• Photos from Greece

    Events of Press Office

    Click to go to Events of Press Offce site

Vice Presidents at the European Parliament

(GREEK NEWS AGENDA)  The European Parliament elected Tuesday, July 15,  its new presidium. MEPs elected Jerzy Buzek to be the new European Parliament President with 555 votes in favour (or 86.18 % of the valid votes). The 69-year-old Polish MEP will lead the European Parliament for two and a half years (until January 2012).  Amongst the 14 vice presidents of the 736-seat institution, representing 492 million citizens from 27 countries, two Greeks were elected on the first round of voting. Rodi-Kratsa Tsagaropoulou from the Group of the European People’s Party (Christian Democrats) received 355 votes and Stavros Lambrinidis representing the Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats received 348 votes.