• Photos from Greece

    Events of Press Office

    Click to go to Events of Press Offce site

Στην ταινία “Attenberg” της Αθηνάς-Ραχήλ Τσαγκάρη το πρώτο βραβείο του φεστιβάλ “Nowe Horyzonty” του Wroclaw

Η εφημερίδα Gazeta Wyborcza (1/8), με τίτλο «Καταδιώκοντας το σώμα» και υπότιτλο «Ολοκληρώθηκε χθες το φεστιβάλ Nowe Horyzonty στο Wrocław, ο σημαντικότερος κινηματογραφικός θεσμός στην Πολωνία», δημοσιεύει ρεπορτάζ του Paweł Felis, όπου παρουσιάζονται οι ταινίες με την μεγαλύτερη επιτυχία στο φετινό φεστιβάλ.
Επισημαίνεται ότι στην ταινία «Attenberg» της Αθηνάς-Ραχήλ Τσαγκάρη απονεμήθηκε το πρώτο βραβείο, όπως αναμενόταν.
Ο αρθρογράφος εκτιμά ότι η ταινία είναι «λεπτομερειακά γραμμένη και σκηνοθετημένη και συγχρόνως σαφής».
Προβάλλονται, επίσης, απόψεις της Τσαγκάρη ότι «η οικονομική κρίση προκαλεί τους έλληνες σκηνοθέτες σε γενναίες και εντυπωσιακές αναζητήσεις».
Η εφημερίδα Rzeczpospolita (1/8), με τίτλο «Η άλλη όψη του κινηματογράφου» και υπότιτλο «Φεστιβάλ Nowe Horyzonty. Οι εκτιμήσεις της κριτικής επιτροπής αποδείχτηκαν εύστοχες» δημοσιεύει, στις πολιτιστικές σελίδες, ρεπορτάζ της Barbara Hollender, για τα πιο σημαντικά δρώμενα του φεστιβάλ, επισημαίνοντας  ότι το πρώτο βραβείο απονεμήθηκε στην ταινία «Attenberg».
Σύμφωνα με την αρθρογράφο, η σκηνοθέτης Αθηνά- Ραχήλ Τσαγκάρη «εκπροσωπεί τη νέα γενιά δημιουργών που αντιμετωπίζουν την πραγματικότητα και τους εθνικούς μύθους».
Γίνεται, επίσης, αναφορά στις αισιόδοξες προοπτικές για τον ελληνικό κινηματογράφο.

World Poetry Day – 2011 Elytis Year

Odysseas Elytis and his work will be the focus of this year’s World Poetry Day, which is celebrated each year on March 21.
The National Book Centre of Greece (EKEBI) launches a poetry campaign including several events.
One of the day’s highlights is an event jointly organized by EKEBI and the Hellenic Authors’ Society which brings together well-known poets and writers such as Katerina Anghelaki-Rooke, Vassilis Vasilikos, Kiki Dimoula and Evgenia Fakinou to recite poems by Odysseas Elytis.
Athenians and citizens of Thessaloniki, Mytillini, Rhodes and Zakynthos will have the opportunity to come across illustrated verses by Elytis as public transport means will feature some of the Nobel laureate’s most beloved and renowned poems. Poetry reading nights, with young poets will also be held in Athens and Thessaloniki.
Moreover in Athens, poet Nanos Valaoritis will present a new theory regarding Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey at the Hellenic American Union, while at the Michael Cacoyannis Foundation, World Poetry Day will be celebrated through poetry, music and stand-up poetry.
The year 2011 has been designated as an Elytis Year by Culture and Tourism Ministry, in order to mark the 100th anniversary since the birth of the Nobel laureate poet.
Nobel Prize Organisation: Excerpt from Worthy It Is, Poetry International Web- Odysseas Elytis: I Lived the Beloved Name, Drinking the Sun of Corinth, Marina of the Rocks, The Wind That Loiters.

Acropolis Museum receives British award

The Acropolis Museum in Athens (see Photo Gallery) has won the British Guild of Travel Writers (BGTW) prestigious global award for the Best Worldwide Tourism Project for 2010.
The prize was presented to Deputy Culture and Tourism Minister George Nikitiades, during a ceremony in London on November 7.
Nikitiades thanked the organizers and the travel writers who voted for the Acropolis Museum, noting that this distinction opens the door for the return of the Parthenon Marbles to their home.
Nikitiades is currently in London with a Greek National Tourism Organisation delegation to participate at the World Travel Market fair, taking place from November 8 to 11.
Greek News Agenda (29.10.2010) Acropolis Museum: Best Overseas Tourism Project

Poems on the Underground – Greek contemporary poetry

The Press Office of the Greek Embassy in Warsaw promotes the contemporary poetry of Greece and participates to   “Poems on the Underground” events (6-30 September 2010).
“Poems on the Underground” (Wiersze w Metrze) has been inspired by other similar projects  in many cities: Dublin, Paris, New York, Barcelona, Stockholm, Stuttgard and Moscow, organised for the first time in London in 1986.
Wiersze w Metrze promotes contemporary European poetry in public city spaces, through happenings, haiku competition, poetry city game and a performing poetry festival.
Many cultural institutes and embassies participate to the project, which takes place under the auspices of the the mayor of Warsaw, Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz.
Greek contemporary poetry will be represented by two acclaimed poets, Kiki Dimoula and Nasos Vagenas.
Kiki Dimoula has recently been awarded the European Literature Prize for 2010. Her poetry has been translated into English, French, German, Swedish, Danish, Spanish and many other languages.
Dimoula’s poetry is haunted by the existential dissolution of the post-world era. Her central themes are hopelessness, insecurity, absence and oblivion. Using diverse subjects and twisting grammar in unconventional ways, she accentuates the power of the words through astonishment and surprise, but always manages to retain a sense of hope.
Nasos Vagenas, professor of Theory and Critique of Literature in the Department of Theatre Studies of the University of Athens, in 2005 was awarded with the State Poetry Prize for his poetic collection ‘Stefanos’.
His poetic work includes the books: ‘Field of Mars’, ‘Biography’, ‘Roxani’s Knees’, ‘Wandering of a non-traveller’, ‘The Fall of the Flying’, ‘Barbarous Odes’ , ‘The Fall of the Flying B’, ‘Dark Ballads and Other Poems’, ‘Stefanos’.
His poetry has been translated into English, German, Italian, Dutch, Romanian, Serbian.
Two poems of Kiki Dimoula and Nasos Vagenas have been translated in polish language for “Wiersze w Metrze” by the professors and students of the Department of Greek Studies of the University of Warsaw (Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies “Artes Liberales”).

Greece: Bodossaki Prize

(GREEK NEWS AGENDA)   The Board of Trustees of the Bodossaki Foundation decided to award the “Bodossaki Aristeio” (Bodossaki Prize) for the year 2009 to John Hopkins University Professor Evangelos Moudrianakis for his pioneering studies in the field of Bio-Medicine.   The award ceremony will be held today (June 17) at the University of Athens in the presence of President of the Republic Karolos Papoulias.  The Aristeio Bodossaki – which is accompanied by the sum of €150,000 and is awarded every two years – was instituted to give recognition to Greeks who have devoted their lives to science and have made a distinctive contribution towards furthering their field of science.

Onassis Prize in Finance

(GREEK NEWS AGENDA) The recipient of the Onassis Prize in Finance is Professor Eugene Fama from Chicago University’s Graduate School of Business. Professor Fama was honoured for his lifetime contribution to finance academia. In his speech delivered for the occasion at a ceremony held at the Guildhall in the City of London on April 27, Fama referred to the global economic crisis stressing that it has not yet ended and that it is advisable for markets to be left free to adjust, away from government interventionism. The Onassis Prize, sponsored by the Alexander S. Onassis Public Benefit Foundation, is awarded biennially and recognises a lifetime contribution by a leading academic in each of the areas of shipping, trade and finance.  The winner receives prize money of $250,000. Addressing the ceremony which attracted some 700 distinguished guests from across the world, President of the Board of Directors, Anthony S. Papadimitriou stated his enthusiasm for the international recognition for a valuable institution such as the Onassis International Prizes.